Loading Events

Traverse City National Writers Series Presents: An Evening with Rita Mae Brown

  • This event has passed.


November 6, 2014
7:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Event Category:


City Opera House
106 E. Front St.
Traverse City, MI United States

An Evening with Rita Mae Brown: Classic Novelist, Animal Lover and Activist. Always funny. Sometimes outrageous. New York Times bestselling author and literary icon makes a rare appearance in Traverse City.

Rita Mae Brown is the New York Times bestselling author of the Mrs. Murphy mystery series (which she writes with her tiger cat, Sneaky Pie), the Sister Jane foxhunting mysteries, and the acclaimed classic and mega-bestselling Rubyfruit Jungle. She is an Emmy-nominated screenwriter and a poet who has published countless novels, essays, screenplays, poetry, cookbooks, a memoir, and most famously, mysteries.

Brown’s new book, Let Sleeping Dogs Lie, release date November 2, 2014. Let Sleeping Dogs Lie is a gripping new mystery, featuring the irrepressible “Sister” Jane Arnold and the wily antics of her four-legged friends.

Brown is in enormous demand as a speaker and guest artist, but she makes few appearances. Her NWS visit is a rare chance to meet a literary icon.

Brown holds doctorate degrees in literature and political science. She lives in Afton, Virginia, with cats, hounds and horses.

NWS is partnering for this event with AC PAW, a nonprofit animal rescue serving Northern Michigan. Event patrons are invited to bring gifts to benefit AC PAW. A wish list of items can be found on the AC PAW Facebook page.

$15 General Admission; $25 Reserved Seating; $35 Premium Reserved Seating; Educator Discount: $5 off ticket price with valid ID; Student Discount: $10 off ticket price with valid ID.

Tickets available online at www.cityoperahouse.org.

Event Comments