Loading Events

Kristina Riggle at Saturn Booksellers

  • This event has passed.

Details

Date:
April 22, 2016
Time:
6:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Event Category:

Organizer

Saturn Booksellers

Venue

Saturn Booksellers
127 W. Main St., Suite A
Gaylord, MI United States
+ Google Map
Phone:
989.732.8899

Kristina Riggle — Friday, April 22nd, 6:00 pm- 9:00 pm and Saturday, April 23, 10:00 am- 4:00 pm.

Get Gritty and Get Writing: Practical tips and tools for the writer’s craft and the writer’s life.

Kristina Riggle, author of five published novels and another on the way, will spend this two-day workshop helping writers of varying levels – beginner and beyond – learn how to power through obstacles and push their work from “good enough” to great.

Curriculum will include sessions on writing vivid characters, ratcheting up conflict and stakes in your plot, and the use of setting as more than just backdrop. As well, Kristina will discuss practical and realistic ways to stay motivated in the face of rejection, interruption, writer’s block, and drained creativity.

Participants should come prepared to write fresh work in response to prompts, or use the time allowed to improve and edit existing work.

Kristina will also discuss her own path to publication, and answer questions about navigating the mysterious and sometimes messy publishing industry.

Michigander Kristina Riggle is the author of five novels, including Real Life & Liars, a Target “Breakout” pick and a “Great Lakes, Great Reads” selection of the Great Lakes Independent Booksellers Association. The Life You’ve Imagined was lauded as an IndieNext “Notable” pick by independent booksellers. Her latest book, The Whole Golden World, was described by Bookreporter.com as “a riveting and thought-provoking page-turner that will appeal to fans of Jodi Picoult and Chris Bohjalian.”

Her new novel, to be published this fall by Polis Books, is Vivian in Red, about a famous Broadway songwriter and the clouded history behind his most famous song, and the woman who inspired it.

Your $150.00 ticket includes snacks Friday night and lunch on Saturday.  Space is limited, so reserve your spot now!

Event Comments