Interlochen Announces 2016 Interlochen Arts Festival

A multitude of talent is ready to take to stages across Interlochen’s campus this summer during the 2016 Interlochen Arts Festival. This season’s festival is certain to have a little something for everyone with performances by Huey Lewis and the News, Martina McBride, Brandi Carlile and Old Crow Medicine Show, Gregg Allman and Peter Frampton, Tears for Fears, Jay Leno, Lindsey Stirling and more.

“This year the Interlochen Arts Festival presents a dynamic and diverse range of artists across music, dance, theatre, film and writing in addition to a stellar lineup of popular acts from the rock, folk, country, bluegrass and blues genres,” says Chris Gruits, director of presentations. “The focus of this year’s festival is Young Americans a showcase of the next generation of American artists. As one of the nations premiere producers of young arts makers, Interlochen is bringing artistic innovators from across the country to present a dazzling array of performances for audiences of all types.”

The full Interlochen festival schedule is listed below. Tickets for all events go on sale April 29, and will be available online at tickets.interlochen.org.


June Performances

Thursday, June 23

Steve Miller Band, 8 p.m., Kresge Auditorium

Tuesday, June 28

Jackson Browne, 8 p.m., Kresge Auditorium
 
Thursday, June 30

Rich Hill, film screening, 8 p.m., DeRoy Center for Film Studies


July Performances

July 1 & 2

Romeo & Juliet, Interlochen Shakespeare Festival, 8 p.m., Upton-Morley Pavilion

Sunday, July 3

World Youth Symphony Orchestra, JoAnn Falletta, conductor, 8 p.m., Kresge Auditorium

Monday, July 4

The Glenn Miller Orchestra, 2 p.m., Interlochen Bowl

Tuesday, July 5

The Capitol Steps, 8 p.m., Corson Auditorium

July 5, 6 & 7

Circle Mirror Transformation, Interlochen Shakespeare Festival, 8 p.m., Harvey Theatre

Thursday, July 7

Danez Smith, poet, 8 p.m., Writing House

Friday, July 8

Kyle Abraham/Abraham.In.Motion, 8 p.m., Corson Auditorium

July 8 & 9

Romeo & Juliet, Interlochen Shakespeare Festival, 8 p.m., Upton-Morley Pavilion

Saturday, July 9

An Evening with Sarah Jarosz, 8 p.m., Corson Auditorium

Sunday, July 10

World Youth Symphony Orchestra, JoAnn Falletta, conductor, 8 p.m., Kresge Auditorium

LUMA – Art in Darkness, 2 p.m., Corson Auditorium

Monday, July 11

The King’s Singers, 8 p.m., Corson Auditorium

Wednesday, July 13

Tears for Fears, 8 p.m., Kresge Auditorium

Thursday, July 14

Béla Fleck & Chris Thile, 8 p.m., Kresge Auditorium

Friday, July 15

Brandi Carlile and Old Crow Medicine Show, 7 p.m., Kresge Auditorium

Sunday, July 17

World Youth Symphony Orchestra, Christopher Rountree, conductor, 8 p.m., Kresge Auditorium

Monday, July 18

Gregg Allman and Peter Frampton, 7:30 p.m., Kresge Auditorium

Tuesday, July 19

An Evening with Huey Lewis and the News, 8 p.m., Kresge Auditorium

Sybarite5 “Look Back, Move Forward”, 8 p.m., Dendrinos Chapel

Saturday, July 23

Interlochen “Collage”, 8 p.m., Kresge Auditorium

World Youth Symphony Orchestra, Joshua Weilerstein, conductor; Zuill Bailey, cello, 8 p.m., Kresge Auditorium

Monday, July 25

Kris Bowers, 8 p.m., Dendrinos Chapel

Tuesday, July 26

An Evening with Lyle Lovett and his Large Band, 8 p.m., Kresge Auditorium

Conrad Tao, piano, 8 p.m., Dendrinos Chapel

Wednesday, July 27

Rick Springfield “Stripped Down”, 8 p.m., Kresge Auditorium

Thursday, July 28

Alexandra Kleeman, 8 p.m., The Writing House

Friday, July 29

Jay Leno, 8 p.m., Kresge Auditorium

Saturday, July 30

Lindsey Stirling, 8 p.m., Kresge Auditorium

World Youth Symphony Orchestra, Carlos Kalmar, conductor; Conrad Tao, piano, 8 p.m., Kresge Auditorium

An Evening with Jake Shimabukuro, 8 p.m., Upton-Morley Pavilion


August Performances

Aug. 4, 5, 6 & 7

Catch Me if You Can, The Musical, High School Musical Theatre Co., Thursday, Friday, Saturday 7:30 p.m., Sunday, 1:30 p.m., Corson Auditorium

Sunday, Aug. 7

World Youth Symphony Orchestra and Les Préludes, Jung-Ho Pak, conductor; Jeffrey S. Kimpton, conductor, 7:30 p.m., Interlochen Bowl

Tuesday, Aug. 9

Pat Benatar & Neil Giraldo and Melissa Etheridge, 8 p.m., Kresge Auditorium

Friday, Aug. 12

Martina McBride Live in Concert, 8 p.m., Kresge Auditorium

Aug. 15, 17 & 20

Ensō String Quartet, 8 p.m., Corson Auditorium

Sunday, Aug. 28

Buddy Guy and Jonny Lang in Concert, 8 p.m., Kresge Auditorium


More Northern Michigan Events

#2016 #Grand_Traverse #Interlochen #Events #Music_&_Art

Article Comments