The New Northern Michigan Farmhouse

1. Mario Batali’s Italian Essentials Pot is essential. Pick it up at The Front Porch in Suttons Bay – where the celebrity chef himself sometimes shops. $99.99. Mario Batali serving spoon, $8.99. 800-307-7210, frontporchsb.com. Also, Crystal Crate & Cargo (see No. 4).

2. Find a wooden spoon for every culinary task under the sun at Home Elements (at the Candle Factory), Traverse City. From three-feet-long on down, starting at $17.50. 231-946-2850.

3. The new farmhouse kitchen sparkles with sleek Hopewell Castilian steel cabinets by Neff. C.J Designs, Petoskey, 231-487-9333. Scott Lankford Design, Traverse City, 231-932-0470, neffkitchens.com.

4. Slice with sustainable style on this bamboo chopping block. Good to know, no pandas were hurt in the bamboo harvesting. Made by Tru Bamboo. Crystal Crate & Cargo, Beulah, $88. 800-787-7366, crystalcrate.com.

5. KitchenAid’s tilt-head stand mixer in satin copper, $499.99. Blackberry Rose, Cadillac. 231-876-9501, blackberryrose.com; Cutler’s, Petoskey. 866-398-1500, cutlersonline.com.

Cabinets
Dynasty Puritan. Williams Kitchen (Traverse City, Cadillac, Gaylord), williamskitchen.com. More Northern Michigan dealers, omegacabinets.com.

Classic Collection. Wooden Hammer, Elk Rapids. woodenhammer.com

Yorktowne Stockton, custom and semi-custom. Kitchen Choreography, Traverse City. kitchenchoreography.net.

Counters
Stainless. Great Lakes Stainless, Traverse City. greatlakesstainless.com.

Lyptus Wood, Michigan Maple Block. Northwood Kitchens, Traverse City. northwoodkitchens.com. Signature Kitchens, Petoskey. signaturekitchensonline.com.

Zodiaq’s (new) Woodland Grey. Traverse Tops, Traverse City. traversetops.com. More local dealers, zodiaq.com.

Note: This article was first published in January 2007 and was updated for the web February 2008.

Article Comments